Silver Spring Lunch Calculations

Lunch Time!

Lunch Time!

If there are two things software engineers like to discuss and optimize the most during their work day, they are the commute and where to go for lunch. The latter is the topic of discussion today.

A few weeks ago I decided to put a makeshift lunch-chart on my whiteboard. I listed all the lunch places along one axis and all the people I generally go to lunch with on the other and had everyone rate their choices from 0 to 10. Later on I back-ported a meaning onto this 0-10 scale: multiply by ten to get the percentage chance I could get you to go to this place if I proposed we go there.

Eventually everyone got annoyed that we couldn’t fiddle with the numbers to generate cool statistics. One person even proposed doing an “affinity” chart to see who generally likes the same places as others. All this was too tough to do on a whiteboard, so I ported the numbers over to a Google Spreadsheet (in my spare time, of course). The image above is a slightly dated version of that Spreadsheet.

I think Google Spreadsheet is really awesome and I hope that maybe if you live or work in Silver Spring, this chart will be somewhat beneficial to you, too. And if not, maybe you can make your own chart for the places near you!

View the whole spreadsheet here!

4 Responses

  1. Haha– i live in SS and I so concur with that list. I still haven’t tried Ghar-e-Kabob, but a family acquaintance is the head cook there.

  2. Thanks for the input Mishri! I feel like we should open up the spreadsheet to the general Silver Spring-going public but I don’t know the right way to go about doing that.

    You should definitely try Ghar-e-Kabob. I would have rated it higher but the vegetarian options on their buffet aren’t as full as I would like. My ratings are basically all contingent on vegetarian offerings :)

  3. How many billable hours have you spent on this?
    Did you inform the people involved that this would be put on the public internet so they can be ridiculed in linked blogs for their opinions?

    This should be done on your own time, not while you’re at work, and you should change the names or ask the participants if they mind this being posted online.

    … not that I believe your “results” so far are worth anyone’s time …

  4. I have spent no billable hours on this.

    I’d be happy to remove the names! I have done so, in fact.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

