Citizen McCain

Knowing my take on choosing leaders, you should be aware that I reject any reasoning that someone is unfit to lead; people should all be able to make that decision for themselves.

Saying that, I found it interesting that there are questions about John McCain’s eligibility to become President. He was born in the Panama Canal Zone on a military base, which means he may not be a “natural born” citizen, the constitutional requirement.

What I’ve heard is that military families in such situations get citizenship for their families, but have to fill out special forms to guarantee that. I’m all for getting rid of extraneous government forms, and I’m all for letting as many people as possible become citizens of the nation of their choosing, so I hope someone takes this to court. I would hope that it would be declared that these babies are automatically citizens by nature of their birth.

Leave a Reply

