Day 1

Day one of being single.

I didn’t bite into a brick of cheese directly, yet.

I spend a lot of time checking out the Internet. When I woke up this morning, a few people had messaged me during the night, so I replied to them, checked my e-mail, and all that good stuff. I wrote a short blog post about missing my brother.

I had recently joined Geni and Facebook at the request of friends, so I played around on those two sites. They seem worthwhile and interesting. I petted the cat for a while, then decided to watch a movie. I put on No Country For Old Men and then the phone rang!

It was a friend who went to my college who I had never met other than online, and he said he was in the area and was going to hang out downtown and go to the monuments. I haven’t been to the downtown monuments in a while, and this guy and I have had really good conversation in the past, so I said yes.

This is when the ball really started rolling. I made some lunch, I got dressed, I programmed my phone, I did the dishes, I actually did some things that were useful, which, if it hadn’t been for that invitation, I probably wouldn’t have. I would have stayed in bed all day moping and surfing the internet.

So, I’m glad that happened. It distracted me when I needed it and we had a good time. We saw all the normal sights:

  • The Capitol
  • The Supreme Court
  • Washington Monument
  • World War II Memorial
  • Vietnam Memorial
  • Einstein Memorial (a personal favorite)
  • Korean War Memorial
  • FDR Memorial
  • Jefferson Memorial

This is actually a lot of walking, for me.   At least 3 miles, I think.  This is definitely a good thing, and I had a good time.

I promised some friends I would play some WoW, so I am going to do that now, and hopefully have a good time doing that too!  All in all, a better first day than I expected.  And I think that’s all we can ask for.

6 Responses

  1. hey, just playing around on wordpress (new convert from blogger) and stumbled upon your blog. nope you don’t know me but I’ve been where you are today and I agree what a good first day. Also, you write very well, very poignant little snippet. I don’t even know you and i was moved, so … all things happen for a reason. hang in there. it’ll get better.

  2. Thanks for the support and kind words, man.

    I think I’m hanging in there.

  3. me back again. I continue to be moved by your writing and your sharing of a very hard / very real experience. I lol’ed at your WoW contest entries (and nope I don’t play) but I think you need to enter some other “real” writing contests. You, my friend, have a gift.

  4. A bit of a belated response, but thanks for blogging about our time together touring DC!

  5. Also, biting into bricks of cheese directly is lots of fun — I recommend it!

  6. Though usually I do slice mine.

Leave a Reply

