Extended Family Appreciation Day

My wonderful aunt and cousin came by to take away some of our old stuff that I don’t want anymore for a yard sale, and they treated me to a nice dinner and some wonderful conversation.  My extended family in the area are all so wonderful and supportive.  Every one of my aunts and uncles are unique and their own person, and some of them can be a little eccentric, but everyone appreciates and loves each other.

I worry because my kids aren’t going to have the same large family structure.  Both of my parents (and now that I think of it, Melissa’s parents, as well) have at least 7 brothers and sisters.  Each of them, however, only seems to have ended up with 2 or 3 kids.  My kids will only have one uncle on my side.

I don’t know what the cause of this is.  I know it’s a somewhat national trend that family size is going down, and that that generally occurs when a nation is fully industrialized and developed like the United States, but I don’t know what the cause is on an individual level, because it seems like the change occurs on that level.  Sometimes I wonder.

Anyway, like I said, I’m concerned that my kids won’t have the wonderful extended family network that I do.  If I stay in touch with my cousins, they could possibly become “aunts and uncles” for my kids.  Does anyone just a little older than me and who is in the same situation know if that is generally what occurs?  I am not very good at staying in touch, even though I would like to be better.

Leave a Reply

