You are getting drowsy…

When I was in high school, or maybe it was junior high, we did this exercise in drama class where the teacher read a script that made everyone relax. The purpose, I think, was to learn to be able to control our bodies, de-stress them, and generally become more in control of ourselves emotionally and physically. I think it worked rather well; I can still relax my shoulders and most of my body on cue. I still remember the feeling and the experience itself.

So, I was thinking about this lately; about how I would like to be able to help other people relax who are stressed out and tense in this way. So, I did what any red-blooded American would do: a Google search. I found a few of these relaxation scripts, and they seemed like they could really do the trick, but most of them are on hypnosis sites!

I wonder how hard it is to learn to hypnotize someone. These scripts and a calm, soothing, even voice seem to be all you need. I don’t think I would want the kind of power that hypnosis supposedly gives (I don’t really believe in it, per se, though I think it can work when the person being hypnotized wants it to work). But it is interesting that there are internet sites devoted to teaching you how to do this stuff.

I’ve heard the horror stories / urban legends about guys hypnotizing girls to get them to do their bidding, and I worry that if I got into this stuff at all, it could be poorly received for that reason. However, I’m a good guy, and everyone who knows me knows that, so I don’t worry too much.

So what do you think? Hypnosis? Anyone have any experience with giving this a try?

Leave a Reply

