College Reunion

I signed up for my 5 year college reunion, which takes place on the weekend of June 1st.  I’d known about it for some time but wasn’t really planning to go until my life got turned upside down.  I need to take all the chances I can get to be social and get out there to make friends, so now I am signed up!

Looking at the list of people who are going, it seems like all the social and cool people will be there, but I don’t see many that I have known well.  When I was there many of the people I knew weren’t quite as social.  Three or four of the social people I have met recently and been talking to and am interested in hanging out with a little bit, but the rest are unknowns.  I’d like to think I can make some friends cold, just by striking up a conversation, and we shall see.

The drive is a long one.  It’s fourteen hours to Iowa.  I think I will be going to Chicago first to hang out with friends, as I understand a lot of people are doing, and that should break it up, but the drive back may end up being a straight-through kind of thing, which I’ve only ever done once.  It’s times like this that I’m happy I have a hybrid.  GAS PRICES!

Depending on what’s going on, I could take that whole week off from work.  I’m already going to be off four days that week with Memorial Day and then my planned three days, so I may as well go for five.  And maybe the following Monday…

One Response

  1. The reunion is the weekend of June 1?!? Wow. I haven’t been back since I transferred but I actually frequently dream about the campus. I decided to finally go visit on my way back from Madison…the first weekend in June >.< I’m not sure I’m up for going to a reunion where I would know basically no one, but I’ll message you if I do end up stopping by Grinnell and if you are around we can meet up.

    — Danny

Leave a Reply

