My Refried Beans Recipe

Okay, I don’t actually refry the beans myself. I just spoon them out of the can, at which point they are edible, but then you have to do a little something something to make them great!

I had these tonight, by the way. When I’m over to my parents for tacos, my mom usually makes me do the beans. My brother said they were very good this time!

In a saucepan, combine:

  • A splash of water
  • One can vegetarian or fat free refried beans
  • Half a jar of your favorite salsa, usually medium spiciness (my usual instructions are: add as much as you think is prudent, then half again as much)
  • a palmful of diced dehydrated green and red bell peppers (these can be hard to find, but are sometimes with the spices at the store; I assume you can also dehydrate them yourself, somehow)
  • slightly less than a palmful of dehydrated onion flakes
  • one fresh tomato (or three roma), diced
  • a tablespoon of ground parsley
  • a tablespoon of ground black pepper
  • If you like it spicy, 4 dollops of your favorite hot sauce; otherwise Tabasco
  • If you aren’t a vegan, half a cup of grated cheese.

Stir and simmer.  When it starts farting and popping, move it to the warmer.

Serve as a dip with chips, as a side dish, or as a topping for tacos and other tex-mex delights.  Also good leftover.

I made them once in college for some vegans, and accidentally used the “traditional” beans, which contain lard.  I felt pretty terrible about that.  The fat free and vegetarian beans actually taste better anyway.  I recommend using the dehydrated peppers and onions because they absorb the essence of the rest of the ingredients quite impressively.  Fresh onions are not as good and I’ve never tried fresh peppers, though they seem like they would be too crunchy.

Leave a Reply

