Saturday Night (not so Live)

I’m supposed to be packing for my trip to the beach but I’m hooked on the episode of Saturday Night Live that NBC aired yesterday. It’s the very first episode, which featured George Carlin and they aired it as a tribute to him. It is consistently good; the sketches are much much shorter than they are today, there are way more musical acts and comedy routines, and there’s much less focus on popular culture, which means most everything still resonates today. I hope that by doing this they learn a little about how they should be doing the show today.

I’m trying to figure out what to pack. I need towels and a bathing suit, some clothes, and a nice shirt since my Dad is taking me out to an “executive” golf course (that means 9 holes and short ones at that). But the most important thing is board games! I had a request to bring Whoonu and Cineplexity (I’ll have to review that one when I get back). I think I’m also going to bring Rock Band, though I don’t know if I’ll have any takers on that. The adults all claim the songs are “noise” and are intimidated! Maybe if it’s a rainy day.

I haven’t been blogging much lately. Google downgraded me for some reason so my hits dropped and that was disheartening, also I just haven’t had too much to say. I’m not leaving for the beach until Tuesday but I’m going to be busy tomorrow night and am leaving straight from work, so unless I find some great Internet there (which is doubtful) there probably won’t be any posts in the near future, either.

Leave a Reply

