Becoming a Winker

I’ve decided to try winking more often.  I make eye contact with a lot of random people throughout my day and I recently realized there’s nowhere really to go from there.  Winking is kind of fun and I really don’t know what it means or what happens after you do it, but why not experiment, right?  Does anyone think winking isn’t a good idea?

The only people I know who actually do wink, or the only people I’ve seen do it, are older guys.  Somewhere between the ages of 45 and 65 it seems like the winking gene kicks in.  I was wondering why that is, I thought of some possibilities:

  • Winking is really great but no one realizes it until they have wisdom of age.  After many years spent not winking, they find out about how great it is and start doing it.
  • It was something that happened a lot back in the day, and all these older folks learned it when they were young.  Maybe there was a movie star that did it a lot in the 50s or something.  They may have been doing it all their life.
  • They’re the only ones who can pull it off.  You expect an old man to be somber, debonair, and respectable.  When they introduce something as playful as a wink into the situation, the jarring nature of the thing makes it more palatable in some way.  Something like a good punchline to a joke.
  • Creepy people wink, and old guys have a tendency to get a little creepy.  Then again, the old guys I know who do wink aren’t really the creepiest of the bunch.

So can a young guy pull it off?  I can think of about 3 or 4 times I could have done it in the past two weeks.  I’ll probably chicken out when I get another opportunity.  I’ll let you know if I don’t!

2 Responses

  1. I thinking winking is highly dependent on the situation– are you winking at a little kid? a girl? to complement a joke? out of the blue? There’s a lot of potential for creepiness/an implication of flirtation in a wink, but you might end up making someone’s day a little cheerier.

  2. Well, I haven’t been able to do it successfully yet. Little kids and girls are usually the main target, yes. Winking at another guy probably wouldn’t serve too much purpose.

    I think the main goal is to make people smile, especially female people.

Leave a Reply

