Weekend Roundup

I haven’t been feeling too creative lately with the old blog, so I figure I’ll just tell you all what I’ve been up to this weekend.

  • On Friday I went to a party for my old high school drama teacher with my brother and some of his friends. She’s moving to the midwest, and I hadn’t seen her for quite a while, nor most of the other people who showed up at the party (a few other teachers and some students). I think most everyone had a good time; there was a pool but poober didn’t tell us about it! So there was no swimming to be had.
  • On Saturday I slept in, hooray! Then I went to Alexandria to visit a coworker and go swimming at her apartment’s pool with her and some of her friends. It was a very nice time and I got some sun. I also got to meet her cats. We hung out for a little while after her friends left and chatted. Whenever I get into a one-on-one chat with anyone things end up going towards libertarianism and such and explaining all that, which might sound boring but it usually ends up interesting. She said she’s usually on that end of the conversation, but on the topic of religion, having to explain Wicca.
  • That was a fairly long Metro ride, there and back. I on the way there I was pretty engrossed in the book I’m rereading: Quicksilver by Neal Stephenson. On the way back I did a fair amount of people-watching, which is my favorite pastime on the Metro. It’s amazing how many people on the Metro seem awesome. I’m mostly talking about nerdy guys and pretty girls. I have no idea how to meet them, though.
  • When I got home, I watched Trekkies 2. I don’t think it merits the Netflux treatment, but I laughed out loud more than a couple times. It reaffirmed my belief that people are awesome and kind of made me want to go to a Star Trek Convention. I feel as though I’ve forgotten too much of my Star Trek knowledge, and would be devoid of the kind of trivia and in-jokes that I used to be able to pull out to impress everyone. Anyway, I liked the movie.
  • After that, I chatted on the phone with a young lady that I met on a dating site, which was nice.
  • Today, Sunday, I have been watching some of the morning talk shows, because they were on when I turned on the TV. Obama is being interviewed on NBC and I am pretty impressed. He’s a likable guy. Then again, all politicians are probably likable people, or they wouldn’t be very good politicians.
  • Right now I need to head out, though. I don’t have any plans for today, for once, but the realtors are having an open house today and I’m supposed to not be here. Traditionally, I’ve gone to Panera and written in a journal or computed, or gone to my parents house. I’ll probably end up continuing that trend. I’d love to hear what you all are up to.
Leave a Reply

