The City That Never Sleeps (which means I don’t either)

I just got back from New York City for a nice weekend trip staying at my friend Norman’s place.  Yes, that friend.  I had a really excellent time.  He lives in Queens, which I had never been to.  I’d been to Manhattan once before on a family trip when I was in high school, but this was my first time in another borough.

I rode the megabus, and met some nice people on the way up and the way down, which is unusual for me.  The megabus is a pretty good deal for getting from DC to NYC, most certainly the cheapest way to do it.  They have an interesting pricing scale:  The first seat on the trip gets sold for $1.  The price rises by what I believe is $1 each ticket until 25 are sold, and then the rest of the tickets are $25.  I got mine for $19 each way, which is about what you’d pay in tolls alone if you drove.  I might be wrong about this, but that seems to be how it works.

Interesting pricing schemes abounded this weekend.  I went to an excellent show in an independent theater called Too Much Light Makes the Baby Go Blind.  I wholeheartedly recommend it, it was a great show where they try to do 30 plays in 60 minutes, most of them comedic, some serious and some just plain wacky.  Anyway, I was talking about pricing.  Their admission charge is $10+the roll of 1d6 (for non-nerds, the roll of a standard six-sided die.)  I rolled a one, which means I got in for the lowest price possible!  I don’t know why they do things this way, though I guess it means they can charge an average of $13 instead of ten.

It’s amazing to me how little things cost in Manhattan.  The two shows I went to, the restaurants I visited, and even the subway were reasonable.  I am very impressed with the city.

To get to the never sleeping part, we took a little walk in the wee hours of Sunday morning, from midnight ’til 3:30 AM.  Here’s my best estimate of the path we took from the village to central park:

The main goal was to hit up some of the smaller squares along broadway, then the Empire State Building and 30 Rock, then all the way to Columbus Circle.  I think it worked out.  We were actually at 30 Rock around 2AM, and if we’d been there an hour earlier we could have seen SNL getting out.  Sadly, I didn’t realize that SNL was live this week.  Oh well, it was still maximum fun!

Leave a Reply

