Dystopian Book Club

Some of the guys at work like to joke about being members of the dystopian book club. They compete to see who can come up with the most dystopian books they’ve read that are of a high quality. Just for kicks, I’m listing what I can come up with here:

  • Nineteen Eighty-Four – George Orwell
  • Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
  • Fahrenheit 451 – Ray Bradbury
  • The Time Machine – H. G. Wells
  • Harrison Bergeron – Kurt Vonnegut
  • Neuromancer – William Gibson
  • Parable of the Sower – Octavia Butler
  • Snow Crash – Neal Stephenson (?)

As an adjunct, the dystopian movie club:

  • Brazil
  • Blade Runner
  • Equilibrium
  • The Matrix Trilogy
  • Planet of the Apes
  • Children of Men
  • Logan’s Run
  • Escape from New York

A lot of the movies appear to be from the 70’s, which is interesting.

Can you come up with any more off the top of your head? No cheating!

8 Responses

  1. SOUTHLAND TALES! nothings more dystopian then a movie with justin timberlake narrating

  2. Rollerball is a dystopian movie AND from the 70’s, but I certainly wouldn’t call it high quality 🙂

  3. I was thinking of putting Mad Max on there; I let my better judgment prevail!

    I think Rollerball is in that same class.

  4. One book that I think could have made the list is City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau. It’s a great book about two kids trying to escape from a community that was built to last for a certain amount of time. It reminded me a lot of the book The Giver.

    It’s a great read, and I’m an official ambassador for the upcoming film adaptation. I’m coming to you first because I have some exclusive first-look pictures that you might enjoy and share with your blog readers.
    Email me if you want them, I’d love to share them with you.

    I really think you’d like City of Ember because there are so many Dystopian themes present.

    The film itself has tons of dystopian themes. One of the screen shots gives you a good idea of what the set looks like (A-MA-ZING). Haha, hope to hear back from you!

    Would love to be in touch!
    Best,
    Amber Baynor
    Official Ambassador
    amber.cityofember.ambassador@gmail.com

  5. Look at the Hunger Games by Susan Collins

  6. The Handmaid’s Tale :A Novel by Margaret Atwood….I guess they made a movie..I never saw it. It is a dystopian novel withvery strong feminist themes.
    We by Yevgeny Zamyatin…amazing book
    THX 1138 – George Lucas’ first film
    V for Vendetta – Comic/Film
    A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
    Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler
    Player Piano by Kurt Vonnegut (his first novel)
    Anthem by Ayn Rand
    Gattica written and directed by Andrew Niccol
    A Scanner Darkly book/film
    Soylent Green book/film
    Logan’s Run book/film
    The Sleeper Awakes by HG Wells
    Swastika Night by Murray Constantine
    One by David Karp
    Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep by Philip K Dick (BladeRunner was loosely based on this)
    The Shockwave Rider by John Brunner
    A World Out of Time by Larry Niven
    The Giver by Lois Lowry that Amber Baynor spoke of, also had two other books in the series, Gathering Blue and The Messenger

    There’s a few to add to your lists…Thanks for giving me some suggestions of new things to check out! 🙂

  7. Fight Club has pretty strong Dystopian themes

  8. I’d add Against Nature by John Nelson to the list of new dystopian thrillers.

Leave a comment