Three Strikes: You’re In – Movie Trilogies Worth Sticking With

Today on Plans Mr. Orr posed this question:

Christopher Nolan, when asked if he would make a third Batman film, asked, “How many good third movies in a franchise can people name?

So I’m thinking: how many are there?

He listed a fair number of the most obvious:

  • Return of the Jedi
  • Return of the King
  • Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade
  • Back to the Future III
  • The Bourne Ultimatum
  • Goldfinger
  • The Search for Spock

I agree with all his choices.  I did a fair amount of research before coming up with what I thought was a comprehensive list.  Here are the other films I decided to include:

  • Die Hard with a Vengeance
  • National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation
  • The Muppets Take Manhattan
  • Chasing Amy
  • Monty Python’s Life of Brian

Then I came up with a few where the entire series is questionable, but the third movie is certainly no worse and probably better than many of the others:

  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III
  • Police Academy 3: Back in Training
  • Ernest Saves Christmas
  • King Kong vs. Godzilla

Am I missing anything?

Leave a comment